PM Modi Reaches Uzbekistan For SCO Summit, To Meet Russia’s Putin On Friday. Key Points


New Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi reached Samarkand in Uzbekistan on Thursday to attend the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) summit, news agency PTI reported. The meeting is set to discuss several global issues, including regional security challenges, boosting trade and energy supplies.

“Landed in Samarkand to take part in the SCO Summit,” Modi tweeted. “At the SCO Summit, I look forward to exchanging views on topical, regional and international issues, the expansion of SCO and further deepening of multifaceted and mutually beneficial cooperation within the Organization,” Modi said in a pre-departure statement.

Here are some key developments:

  • PM Modi is expected to hold bilateral meetings on the sidelines of the summit, including Russian President Vladimir Putin and Uzbek President Shavkat Mirziyoyev, among other leaders.
  • There is no confirmation over Modi’s possible bilateral meet with Chinese leader Xi Jingping. As per reports, Pakistan Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif will also be attending the SCO summit.
  • At the airport, PM Modi was welcomed by Uzbek counterpart Abdulla Aripov, ministers, Governor of Samarkand region and other senior officials.
  • According to reports in Russian and Iranian media, PM Modi will be holding separate bilateral meetings with Putin and Iranian President Ebrahim Raisi.
  • The SCO summit will have two sessions — one restricted session that is only meant for the SCO member states – another extended session that is likely to see the participation of observers and the special invitees of the chair country.
  • This is going to be the first in-person summit of the bloc in two years, after the Covid pandemic.
  • The SCO summit of the eight-nation grouping is taking place amid the growing geo-political turmoil, largely triggered by the conflict between Russia and Ukraine, and China’s aggressive military posturing in the Taiwan Strait.
  • Launched in Shanghai in June 2001, the SCO has eightmembers, including six of its founding members – China, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan. India and Pakistan joined as full members in the year 2017.


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *